REALWorld Law

Sale and purchase

Real estate legislation

Which legislation applies to property transactions?



The Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 and the Land Use Act 1978 are the major uniform laws for the entire country. There are, however, other subsidiary legislations regulating property transactions within the respective 36 states and the Federal Capital territory which include but are not limited to the following:

  • Land Instrument Registration Act and Land Instrument Registration Laws (of various States);
  • Property and Conveyancing Law (States in the Southwest except Lagos State);
  • Conveyancing Act 1881 (States in Northern and Eastern Nigeria);
  • Rent Control and Recovery of Premises Laws (various States);
  • Acquisition of Lands by Aliens Law Ch. A1, Laws of Lagos State, 2015;
  • Land Registration Law of Lagos State 2015;
  • Land Use Charge Law of Lagos State 2020;
  • Tenement Rate Laws (various States);
  • Tenancy Law of Lagos State 2011;
  • Registration of Titles Law (various states);
  • Lagos State Real Estate Regulatory Authority Law, 2022;
  • Wills Act 1837;
  • Wills Laws (various States);
  • Companies and Allied Matters Act 2020;
  • Nigeria Startup Act 2022;
  • Administration of Estate Laws (Various States); and
  • • Tax legislations – Finance Act (2019, 2020, 2021 & 2023 Amendments) Capital Gains Tax Act 2004 (as amended), Personal Income (Amendment) Tax Act 2011 (as amended), Stamp Duties Act 2004 (as amended), and Companies Income Tax Act 2004 (as amended).